Arts Award with Stitchclub


Bronze and Silver Arts Awards are now available at Stitchclubs

Arts Award is a national qualification which supports young people to develop as artists and arts leaders. As well as providing a recognised addition for your CV, the programme develops creativity, leadership and communication skills. Through Arts Award young people learn to work independently, helping them to prepare for further education and employment.

The minimum age for doing these two Awards is 11 years. The biggest consideration is the amount of time you have to spend on the Award. Arts Award is managed by Trinity College London in association with Arts Council England.

We are running the Arts Award programon Saturdays during term time 11:30 – 1. For further information or to register for the Arts Award email sam.

Bronze Award

To attain the award the participant needs to create an arts portfolio which demonstrates their knowledge and understanding of an art form. In particular they must show evidence that they have:

  • Actively participate and develop a chosen Arts activity (e.g. stitching)
  • Attended and Reviewed at least one arts event (e.g. visiting a gallery)
  • Researched the work of an artist they admire
  • Pass on an arts skill (e.g. in a workshop)

The Arts Award guide suggests that a participant will spend approximately 40 hours (plus 20 independent) on the Bronze Award.

Silver Award

To attain the silver award the participant must create a portfolio which shows evidence that they have completed the following:

  • Develop a chosen art form
  • Identify and agree an Arts challenge
  • Create and Implement a Plan to execute the Arts Challenge, then review the result
  • Review Arts Events
  • Learn about artists and events through participation
  • Demonstrate Arts Leadership
    this will probably be by working as a team member to put on an art exhibition

  • Plan, deliver and review the project

The Arts Award guide suggests that approximately 60 hours of work plus 35 independent hours (at GCSE level) will be spent on the Silver Award.